|Facebook can now find your face, even when it's not tagged|
|By Thom Holwerda on 2017-12-19 19:18:57|
Facebook just loosened the leash a little on its facial-recognition algorithms. Starting Tuesday, any time someone uploads a photo that includes what Facebook thinks is your face, you’ll be notified even if you weren't tagged.
The new feature rolled out to most of Facebook's more than 2 billion global users this morning. It applies only to newly posted photos, and only those with privacy settings that make an image visible to you. Facebook users in Canada and the European Union are excluded. The social network doesn't use facial-recognition technology in those regions, due to wariness from privacy regulators.
Just a heads up.
- Facebook's new messaging app aimed at those 13 and under - 2017-12-04
- FCC releases final proposal to end net neutrality - 2017-11-22
- Russia's meddling could spell the end of online anonymity - 2017-11-01
- Puerto Rican iPhone users given access to Loon balloons - 2017-10-22
- More related articles